Environment Education

with Chris Summerville

title

Click to add text, images, and other content

The Importance of Eco-Cars  (With thanks to Thomas!)


Special Friends' Sites

Iain Davey:

A site provided by an EFL teacher who majored in sustainable development and who runs a number of environmental content-based English courses. The site offers practical and informative resources connected to EFL (English as a Foreign Language), and important environmental and global issues.

John Spiri:
Educator, writer and activist has a website about his work and dreams.

Aarohi
Aarohi began as a dream, a passion and a conviction... and has become a way of life.
The word �Aarohi� means ascendance or growth; the growth of thought, creativity and harmony. The organization was established in 1992, to create opportunities for rural mountain communities in Uttarakhand to lead a more self-dependent existence, reduce poverty and live in harmony with their environment.  The reach currently extends to 74 villages, benefiting a population of some 30,000 people. Major intervention areas are Health, Education and Livelihoods. The website offers detailed information on the works of the organization in the last sixteen years.

Presenting, "Sapnon ka Aashiana, zindagi bhar ka dostana...", a fund raising event in the month of October in Delhi...

Kyoto Vegetarian Festival(Japanese)
Kyoto Okazaki Park (just the south of HEIAN JINGU)  2008/10/5 (SUN) 10:00~17:00
The biggest vegetarian festival in Japan , a rare event bringing together vegetarian-, environment-, and peace-minded people  from all over the country. An event for all ages, the festival gives you a place to enjoy vegetarian food and listen to music while learning about vegetarianism, the environment, and more.★In an effort to reduce garbage, please bring your own eating utensils, and bags for the items you buy.

Eco-tipping Points are levers for restoring sustainability to our imperiled environment. Small actions can make a big difference when they tap the inborn powers of nature and human societies to heal themselves. 
The EcoTipping Point project is dedicated to disseminating this paradigm through books magazine articles, seminars, workshops, and direct collaboration with community groups. 

Forklift Training  Environmental Outsource are West Coast U.S. consultants offering full-service environmental health and safety compliance services, including forklift training and employee safety training.

Career Pay Community colleges of California providing best training for career pay, career education services, career occupation, career technical training and  vocational education training.

Lean Mean and Green Cars:A great site that basically say, if you gotta drive, make it a green car. Lots of information, facts and advice...Go for it!! 

 

 

Environment

Asian Environment:  http:// www.asianenviro.com

Antenna: http://www.antenna.nl/indexeng.html

Best Foot Forward: http://www.bestfootforward.com/

Bionet: http://www.bionet.org/

Biothinker: http://www.biothinking.com

Centre for Alternative Technology: http://www.cat.org.uk

Centre for Environment Education (India) CEE: http://www.ceeindia.org

Center for Environmental Education (USA): http://www.ceeonline.org

Centre for Science and Environment: http://www.cseindia.org

Centre for Sustainable Development: http://www.un.org/esa/sustdev/csd.htm

'Down to Earth' (Indian Science and Environment Fortnightly): http://www.downtoearth.org.in

E The Environmental Magazine: http://www.emagazine.com

Earth Action Network: http://www.earthaction.org

Earth Charter: http://www.earthcharterinaction.org/youth/    http://www.earthcharter.org

Earth Council: http://earthcouncil.com  

Earth Justice:  www.earthjustice.org

Earthscan: www.earthscan.co.uk

Earthwatch; www.earthwatch.org

Earthtimes: www.earthtimes.org

Eco Kids:  http://ecokids.sympatico.ca

Ecological footprint measurement: www.myfootprint.org

Ecologist (British magazine): www.theecologist.org

Ecotourism Society: www.ecotourism.org

Envirolink: www.envirolink.org (Has many useful links.)

Environment Council: www. envcouncil.org.uk   (Funded by multinationals - very intelligent greenwashing!)


Energy-related sites:

Energy21: www.energy21.org.uk

Energy & Environmental Program: www. riia.org/eep.html

Environment Protection Agency: www.epa.gov/recyclecity/

Funenergy www.funenergy.org.uk (games & quizzes)

Green Choices www.greenchoices.org

Green Dragon www.greendragonenergy.co.uk

Green Maps: http://www.greenmap.org

Green Prices www.greenprices.com (alternative energy suppliers)

IEA www.iea.org

Eurosolar www.eurosolar.org

Institute of Science in Society www.i-sis.org

N Power www.npower.com/juice

World Energy Council www.wec.co.uk

Renewable Energy Project www.repp.org

Rocky Mountain Institute www.rmi.org


Environmental Education sites:

Centre for Environmental Education (USA) http://www.cee-ane.org/

Council for Environmental Education (UK) www.cee.org.uk

Field Studies Council http://field-studies-council.org.uk

Forum for the Future HE21 www.he21.org.uk

Foundation for Environmental Education www.feee.org

Green Teacher www.web.net/~greentea/

Life Link www.life-link.org (school links)

North American Association for Environmental Education

www.naaee.org

Sustainability Education Centre www.globaled.org/sustain

WWF Education www.wwflearning.co.uk

Environmental Protection Agency (US) www.epa.gov

Findhorn Foundation (a sustainable community) www.findhorn.org

Federation of City Farms & Gardens www.farmgarden.org.uk

Friends of the Earth www.foe.co.uk www.foejapan.org


Forest-related sites

Intergovernmental Forum on Forests www.un.org/esa/sustdev/iff.htm

Rainforest Action Network www.ran.org

Rainforest Care www.rainforest.care2.com

Rainforest Information Centre http://forest.org/ric/

Rainforest Jukebox www.rainforestjukebox.org

Redjellyfish www.redjellyfish.com/longdistance

Tree Aid www.treeaid.org.uk

Geocities www.geocities.com

Global Witness (links environment & human rights) oneworld.org/globalwitness


GM issues sites:

www.grain.org www.corporatewatch.org

www.gm-info.org www.soilassociation.org

www.foe.co.uk www.newsunlimited.co.uk

www.actionaid.org

Green Globe www.greenglobe.org

Green Net www.gn.apc.org

Greenpeace www.greenpeace.org.uk www.nets.ne.jp/GREENPEACE

Guardian reports on food www.newsunlimited.co.uk/food

International NGO Network on Desertification riod.utando.com

Jane Goodall Institute www.janegoodall.org

Japan Council for Sustainable Development jcsd@eic.or.jp

Local Agenda 21 UK www.la-uk.org.uk

Millennium Eco Communities www.ec.gc.ca/eco

National Center for Sustainability www.islandnet.com/~ncfs/maisite/

Organic Networks www.organic-networks.com

Planet Save (a service provider that cuts spam & donates rainforest)

http://www.landbasedlearning.org

www.slc.org

www.emeraldearth.org   (Emerald Earth)

PODI (ecotourism) www.podi.com/ecosource


Recycling sites:

www.recyclemore.co.uk

www.glassforever.co.uk

Secretariat for Biodiversity Convention www.unep.ch/biodiv.html

SierraClub www.sierraclub.org

Schumacher College www.gn.apc.org/schumachercollege/

Society of Environmental Journalists www.sej.org

TOUCH (European Network)

Tourism Concern www.tourismconcern.org.uk

UK Govt DETR www.detr.gov.uk

Env't Agency www.environment-agency.gov.uk

UNED Roadmap to 2002 www.uned-uk.org/roadmap

Earth Summit www.earthsummit2002.org

UNEP www.unep.org books: www.earthprint.com

Wilderness Project (to restore wilderness in US) www.twp.org

WWF www.panda.org/home.html www.wwf.or.jp

World Conservation Monitoring Commission www.wcmc.org.uk

Young People's Trust for the Environment www.yptenc.org.uk

Author's textbooks: 'Looking Back, Moving Forward: An Environmental Course for the Next Generation':

http://www.mlh.co.jp/catalog/product/187
http://www.mlh.co.jp/catalog/product/188


Other environment-related sites

www.enn.com

www.uvm.edu/~cess/es/resources.html (a Canadian site)

www.regeneration.detr.gov.uk/research.mvsc

www.teriin.org/news

www.un.org/esa/agenda21/natlinfo/countr/

To find out a country's progress re Agenda 21

http://iisd1iisd.ca/educate/declare.htm

www.antenna.nl/wise/cop6/coeng.html

http://environment.harvard.edu/religion (on religion and ecology)

Additional sites of interest may be found in the Ecologist (see above).


 

AIDS


www.japanetwork.org

www.avert.org

www.worldaidsday.org

www.unaids.org


Citizenship & Values


Assembly of the People's UN www.tavoladellapace.it

Centre for Citizenship Studies in Education (Univ of Leicester)

www.globaloutlook.org.uk

Centre for Human Ecology www.che.ac.uk

Citizen 21 www.citizen21.org.uk

Citizen's Advice Bureau www.adviceguide.org.uk

Citizenship Foundation www.citfou.org.uk

Council for Ed in World Citizenship www.cewc.org.uk

Living Values www.livingvalues.net

Inst for Citizenship www.citizen.org.uk

IICD www.iicd.org/globalteenager

UK Govt www.open.gov.uk

UK Youth Parliament www.ypp.org.uk

World Citizens www.worldcitizens.org


Development issues


(including hunger, fair trade, debt, etc)


Action Aid (an aid agency) www.actionaid.org

Bank Watch (monitors the World Bank) www.bankwatch.org

Barefoot College (a sustainable development project in India)

http://www.barefootcollege.org

British Council www.centralbureau.org.uk

Business Leaders Forum (ethical business) www.oneworld.org/pwblf/

CAFOD (an aid agency) www.cafod.org.uk

Christian Aid (an aid agency) www.oneworld.org/christian_aid

Centre for Citizenship Studies in Education www.globaloutlook.org.uk

Child Welfare Scheme (Nepal) www.childwelfarescheme.org

Commission on Sustainable Development www.un.org/esa/sustdev/csd.htm

Communal Areas Management Programme campfire-zimbabwe.org

Development Education Project www.dep.org.uk

This site includes Global Express (highly recommended).

Department for International Development (UK) www.dfid.gov.uk

Ethical Trade www.ethicaltrade.org/

Ethical Junction www.ethical-junction.org

Fair Trade www.gn.apc.org/fairtrade/

Global Village www.globalvillage.or.jp

Grameen Story www.grameen.com

Harmony Foundation www.harmonyfdn.bc.ca/~harmony

The Hunger Site www.hungersite.com

International Broadcasting Trust (TV programmes on global issues)

www.ibt.org.uk

International Foster Plan www.jca.apc.org/fplan/

International Institute for Environment & Development www.iied.org

International Labor Organization www.ilo.org

Institute of Development Studies www.ids.ac.uk

Institute for International Cooperation & Development

www.iicd-volunteer.org and: www.iicd.org/globalteenager

Jubilee Plus (campaigning for debt relief) www.jubileeplus.org

New Economics Foundation www.neweconomics.org

New Internationalist (monthly magazine focusing on global justice issues)

www.newint.org

NetAid www.netaid.org

Network 2002 www.earthsummit2002.org

On the Line Project www.ontheline.org.uk

Oxfam http://www.oxfam.org.uk/

(for kids) http://www.oxfam.org.uk/coolplanet/

People-Centered Development Forum www.iisdl.iisd.ca/pcdf

Save the Children www.savethechildren.org.uk

Sightsavers www.sightsavers.org.uk

Tourism Concern www.tourismconcern.org.uk

Trade Justice Movement www.tradejusticemovement.org.uk

UN Development Program www.undp.org

UNICEF www.unicef.org.

World Health Organization www.who.org

World Bank www.worldbank.org

World Citizens www.worldcitizens.org

World Development Movement www.wdm.org.uk/

World Travel & Tourism Council www.wttc.org

Further sites of interest can be found in the New Internationalist (see above).




Ethical consumerism & fair trade

www.tradejusticemovement.org.uk

www.ethical-junction.org

www.gn.apc.org/fairtrade/

www.globalvillage.or.jp

www.enn.com (for green shopping)

www.greenchoices.org (for green choices on energy, etc.)

www.oneworld.org/ethical-investors

http://responsibleshopper.org

www.xs4all.nl/~ccc

www.adbusters.org (an anti-consumerism site)

www.buynothingday.co.uk (an anti-consumerism site)


Gender issues

World Bank Gender Net: www.worldbank.org/gender/

UNDP Gender in Development www.undp.org/gender

International Foundation for Gender Education www.ifge.org/

Feminist Majority Foundation www.feminist.org

National Organization of Women (US) www.now.org/


Globalization

Action Aid www.actionaid.org

Assembly of the People's UN www.tavoladellapace.it

Canadians (an anti-corporation site) www.canadians.org

GATT (a spoof site) www.gatt.org

Global History (Australian university articles) www.globalhistory.cjb.net/

also www.milkbar.com.au

Indy Media (critical of the WTO) www.indymedia.org

New Economics Foundation www.neweconomics.org

Real World Bank (a site critical of the WB) www.realworldbank.org


Homeless


Change a Life www.changealife.org.uk

Rough Sleepers www.roughsleepers.org.uk

Shelter www.shelter.org.uk

Habitat www.habitat.org/true/

and in Japan:

www.hfhap.org/japan_main.html

www.jca.ax.apc.org/nojukusha/nojiren

www.isweb28.infoseek.co.jp/area/ktsutsui/index.html


Human rights

Amnesty www.amnesty.org

Anti Slavery www.charitynet.org/~asi

BBC www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/humanrights

Charter 88 www.charter88.org.uk

Free the Children Japan http://homepage2.nifty.com/FTCJ/

Global Witness www.oneworld.org/globalwitness

(human rights & environmental problems)

Human Rights Education Associates http://erc.hrea.org

Human Rights Education Newsletter www.human-rights.net/ehrn

Hurights Japan www.hurights.or.jp

ILO www.ilo.org

Labour Behind the Label www.xs4all.nl/~ccc

Liberty www.liberty-human-rights.org.uk

Refugee Council

Refugee Aid www.refaid.org.uk

Save Tibet www.savetibet.org www.tibet.com/NewsRoom

Seika University kyoto-seika.ac.jp/eng/assk.html

UN Commission on Human Rights www.unhchr.ch

UN High Commission on Refugees www.unhcr.ch

Other:

www.debito.org/

www.issho.org


Media & news sources


BBC www.bbc.co.uk

Counter Punch www.counterpunch.org

Crisis Report www.crisisreport.org

Ecologist www.theecologist.org

Earthtimes www.earthtimes.org

Fair Org (on bias in the US media) www.fair.org

GILE Newsletter www.jalt.org/global/

Global Eye www.globaleye.org.uk

Global News Education Trust www.global-net.org.uk/vision

with Youth Positive News

GoodNewsAgency www.goodnewsagency.org

Green Teacher www.web.net/~greentea/

Guardian www.newsunlimited.co.uk www.guardianweekly.com

Human Rights Education Newsletter www.human-rights.net/ehrn

International Broadcasting Trust www.ibt.org.uk

Media Channel www.mediachannel.org (on manipulation of UK media)

Media Lens www.medialens.org/about.html (articles by Chomsky etc)

Megastories www.megastories.com

Mother Jones www.motherjones.com

New Internationalist www.newint.org

simplified version www2.gol.com/users/bobkeim/contents.html

Planet Express www.planetxpress.org

Positive News www.positivenews.org.uk

Reporting the World www.reportingtheworld.org

Save Our Environment www.saveourenvironment.org

Sydney Morning Herald www.smh.com.au

Voices of Youth www.unicef.voy

Yes Magazine www.yesmagazine.org


Peace


Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament www.cnduk.org

Carter Center www.cartercenter.org

The Community www.thecommunity.com/crisis/

Global Action to Prevent War www.globalactionpw.org

Hague Appeal for Peace www.haguepeace.org

International Institute for Peace through Tourism www.IIPT.org

International Peace Bureau www.ipb.org

Institute for Global Communications (for link to Peacenet) www.igc.org

Linguapax www.linguapax-unesco.com

Nobel Peace Prize www.nobel.se/peace/laureates

One Day for Peace www.oneday.net

Peace Boat www.peaceboat.org

Peace Brigades www.peacebrigades.org

Peace Pledge Union http://gn.apc.org/peacepledge/

Peace Child www.wyse.se OR www.peacechild.org

Peaceday www.peaceday.org

World Peace www.WorldPeace.org

World Citizens Association www.worldcitizens.org

World Youth Service Enterprise www.wyse.se

Zero Landmines Campaign www.tbs.co.jp/zero/

www.thelandminesite.com


Prejudice


Anti Defamation League www.ADL.org

other sites

www.eburg.com/~cole

www.umn.edu/humanrts/instree/d2drp.htm (anti-racism declaration)

http://blhrri.org/index_e.htm

www.imadr.org/index.html


Tourism


Earthwatch www.earthwatch.org

Ecotourism Society www.ecotourism.org

International Institute for Peace through Tourism www.IIPT.org

PODI www.podi.com/ecosource

Tourism Concern www.tourismconcern.org.uk

Conservation International www.ecotour.org

World Travel & Tourism Council www.wttc.org

Partners in Responsible Tourism www2.pirt.org/pirt/

Responsible Tourism Network www.caa.org.au/travel/

ECONETT www.wttc.org


Global education clearing houses/gateways


Better World Links www.BetterWorld.Links.org

Directory www.webdirectory.com

Earth Action Network www.earthaction.org (good links)

Excite UK 'environmental education'

First Pages www.first-pages.com (400 global organisations)

Institute for Global Communications www.igc.org

(links to Peacenet, Econet, Labornet, Womensnet, Conflictnet)

Earth Negotiations Bulletin & Linkage www.iisd.ca/linkages

Eldis Links http://ntl.ids.ac.uk/eldis/deved

Oneworld www.oneworld.org (good links)

University of Sunderland http://cei.sunderland.ac.uk/archive/international/

Worldaware www.worldaware.org.uk


Other sites of interest


Adbusters www.adbusters.com www.buynothingday.co.uk

Agabaga (holistic education) www.agabaga,com

BabyMilkAction www.babymilkaction.org.spin

Common Dreams www.commondreams.org

Council for Global Ed www.globaleducation.org

Experiential Education www.experientialed.com

Facing the Future www.facingthefuture.org

Global Change Game www.gcg.mb.ca

Group 21 Kyoto www.jca.apc.org/g21

Inst of Science in Society www.i-sis.org

Institute of Social Inventions www.globalideasbank.org

Living Values www.livingvalues.net (12 universal values)

MacDonalds www.mcspotlight.org

National Curriculum www.dfee.gov.uk/nc/

Salon www.salon.com

Social Studies School Service www.socialstudies.com (excellent global

education catalogue of resources for schools)

Teaching for Change www.teachingforchange.org

UNICEF www.unicef.org.

United Nations www.un.org

UN for kids www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/

World Education Fellowship www.tcol.co.uk

Worldmix www.vistavisuals.al/worldmix_uk

Volunteering: www.idealist.org www.vfp.org

Z Mag www.zmag.com